Skip to Main Content

Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission

2013-2014 Challenge Winners

2013 Highlights

We received 12 submissions for the 2013-2014 Sustainable Growth Challenge, the first year of this collegiate competition. Winning presentations were recognized at the Maryland Sustainable Growth Forum & Awards ceremony on February 5, 2014 in Annapolis.


First Prize

University of Maryland
Landscape Architecture
Program Design and Planning for Sea Level Change and
Stormwater Issues on Maryland’s Eastern Shore

2014 student challenge 22050 Causeway Nature Park

Dr. Vicky Chanse, faculty adviser
Nancy Britt
Robyn Edwards
Amy Marin
Adriana Mendoza
Elisabeth Walker
Travis Wierengo

Second Prize (Tie)

Montgomery College
Department of Applied Technology – 2 teams
Burtonsville Crossing

2014 student challenge Burtonsville Crossing

Team 1:
Shorieh Talaat, faculty adviser
Biniyam Bezabih
Renzo Carranza
Johan Lahore
Tyler Scott

Team 2

Team 2:
Shorieh Talaat, faculty adviser
Ingrid Argueta
Jill Carrington
Christopher Estrada
John Fernando
William Titsamp

Third Prize

Towson University
Department of Geography & Environmental Planning
Patapsco Valley Heritage Greenway

Third Prize

Dr. Charles Goodman, faculty adviser
Willis Fotiadis
Elizabeth Kincaid
Stephen Merritt
Martin Ndegwa